Amy Richter: bodhrán, percussion

Amy Richter bodhran and percussion | athas

A two-time Midwest Fleadh Cheoil champion on the bodhrán, Amy Richter has gone on to compete in the All-Ireland Fleadh Cheoil na hÉireann in Letterkenny (2006) and Cavan (2012), Ireland.  She’s been performing Irish music since 2003 and teaching since 2007.

Amy is a founding member of áthas, a Milwaukee based band proud to be bringing joy and happiness to all their fans for the past 10 years.  In celebration of their 10 year anniversary áthas released a brand new album of live tracks & rarities titled 10 for 10.  áthas has become a favorite act at Irish music’s premier event, Milwaukee Irish Fest, gathering praise for the excitement of their stage shows and the energy they display in the dance tent.

A highly sought after instructor, Amy has been teaching bodhrán at the Milwaukee Irish Fest School of Music since 2007 and the Milwaukee Irish Fest Summer School since 2008.  In 2012, Amy joined the faculty of the Junior Davey Bodhrán Academy in County Sligo, Ireland.  She’s also taught for the Wisconsin Conservatory of Music and The Irish Music School of Chicago.

In 2005 Amy received the Celtic Studies Certificate from the University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee and was the 2008 recipient of the Ed Ward Irish Music Scholarship.  She’s studied abroad at the University of Limerick under the direction of Dr.’s Niall Keegan and Sandra Joyce, directors of the Irish World Academy of Music and Dance.

Amy just recently had the pleasure of accompanying top trad band, Lunasa on a few tunes during their show at the 35th Annual Milwaukee Irish Fest.  She’s also played alongside accordion extraordinaire, John Whelan for several years at the annual Milwaukee Midwinter Set Dance Weekend, and toured the east coast with Chicago based band, Bua back in the summer of 2010.

Amy’s mentors and inspirations on the bodhrán include Paul Phillips, Junior Davey, Colm Phelan, Eamon Murray, Jackie Moran, Paul Marshall, John Joe Kelly, Seamus O’Kane, Pat Roe, Martin O’Neill, Rob Forkner, David Burns and Mick Dunphy.

Visit Amy’s personal website.